Meditation: Why it’s important

13 Oct

During my day I try to meditate at least 3 times. Once when in the morning, usually in the shower.  Next, midday, this is usually right after my lunch and finally once I get home from work. Each session lasts about 5 minutes but let me tell you it’s like I had taken a 30 minute nap! So why is it so important to meditation?

To be honest, I love how it focus’ me. It doesn’t complete dissolve the stress in my life but it definitely gives me a moment to step outside of myself and think on a leveled platform. Meditation has also taught me to focus on what I’m doing, for example working out. If my mind is clear I can focus on a proper bicep curl or and ab crunch. Basically, meditation has given me the honor of getting to know me!

So how does one meditate? First off, you don’t need to be sitting crossed legged on a tallest mountain. The easiest way to benefit from meditation is to sit quietly whether it’s on your office chair or on your sofa. Make sure your spine is upright to your head because if you’re slumped you mind will drift off and you may fall asleep.  Some people keep their eyes open while others close them. I prefer to close mine so I have the opportunity to truly focus on what I’m doing. If my eyes are open I’ll proper notice a dust bunny in the corner and get annoyed. Focus on your breathing. Inhale for the count of 3, hold for the count of 2 and exhale for the count of 3. If you start to feel dizzy simply open your eyes and wait for the dizziness to pass before trying agian.

It is difficult at first especially if you’re trying to meditate on a particular stressful day but the important thing is there are no right or wrongs. True, the goal in meditating is to have a clear mind but this doesn’t mean that we all need to walk around like we’re brain dead. A clear mind means that we are not filling our heads with so much crap that we overwhelm ourselves so that we stop what we were meant to do and that’s live.

One Response to “Meditation: Why it’s important”

  1. Dr.S.P.Singh. November 11, 2008 at 2:15 am #

    Meditation is the ultimate BLISS.

Leave a Reply

