Day trip to Artscape – Stop Animation Photography Project

30 Aug

test1 065

This is my friend Sojin while working on a Stop-Animation Project for an upcoming coming Exhibit.  Machine has a video camera suspended at the center and shoots directly over a lighted based.

test1 063

I’m curious to know how the Film Camera operates with computers. The machine is hooked up to a Mac G5 (I think).

test1 067There was another artist working the day I arrived at Artscapes. He too was working on his own Stop Animation but instead of photographs, he was painting directly onto glass films. When he let me see a preview of the clips I was amazed to see that the blobs of paint would swirl and dance in circles. It reminded me of schools of orange and yellow fish swimming in circles. I got nostalgic watching the preview of great chartoons like Fantasia, Dumbo, and Alice in Wonderland.

Leave a Reply

