Writing Tools

20 Jul

Character Profile Rocco from Life on Emerson Ave

I created this collage about 6 months ago. My character Rocco wasn’t developing or evolving because I couldn’t get a clear idea of who he is. Because of his age, I found creating pictures of who I think he is would make the writing process flow much easier. As if turns out I was right.

This huge canvas hangs above my sofa in my writing area of my apartment. Before each session I’ll stare at it until I hear his voice, and wait for him to tell me what to do.

In creating this collage I used the idea of Vision Boards. I collected photos of things, people and places that I felt Rocco would be interested in. I arranged the pictures on the canvas in a way that exampled his energy. Starting from the base I glued the pictures so they fanned out toward the top. This is his energy – he’s like a tree. From root to branch there’s something to look at, something to study and learn from, and he’s amazing to watch.

I use a lot of collages to help me get into his world, Life on Emerson Ave. Sometime, I create collages to start a writing project, other times I use it to help me decode a message that I’m not understanding. For the most part, working on collages keeps me interested in writing. After all, when it comes down to it, everyone is a writer but few have a completed book.

2 Responses to “Writing Tools”

  1. kerry622 July 20, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    What a fantastic idea! I have written myself into corners as my characters are teens(which I am soo not), it just goes to show that thinking out of the box is always the ace up the sleeve! We writers are lucky to be able to employ any and all creativity on the path to solutions! Good Luck in your writings!

  2. Ruthy July 22, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    What a loverly idea Mr. PhunkyBrat. The collage is fascinating. Write, write, write. One word, followed by the next. Looks so easy. Is soooo hard.

Leave a Reply

