Perfect timing for love, art and food

9 Oct

no one is perfect

It’s that time of year again…no not that art is only shown during the fall season but when I’m inspired to actually take part in it.

First off, my apologies for not posting my Nuit Blanche pics this year. I have a very good reason as to why they weren’t posted. I never went. The guy I was with and I dodged the whole thing by sneaking down alleyways until we got back to my apartment. I wasn’t feeling it this year. I had finished doing a double shift at work (I’ve since been let go and good riddance) and by the time I met up with my friend all I wanted to do was chill out and smoke pot. Yes, a perfect combination for Nuit Blanche but you see when two Capricorns get together all they want is seclusion and private time. I did manage to check out this one installation. You walked into a tent where the wall were filled with video. The camera person was on a swing in a playground. The whole experience was amazing. I felt like I was back in my hometown Hamilton Ontario playing in a park. The woman beside me, who was clearly stoned as well, leaned over and whispered, “This is just how I remembered it.” She smiled and was gone.

I lost my train of thought. Originally I intended…well who knows what I intended at this point because it’s gone.  But I’ll continue. My friend is a hooker. Let’s go with the truth shall we? And for some reason I’m so interested in him, not his profession but who he is that most times I’m asking questions and he casually answers them. I find the whole experience hilarious with him. I also find myself feeling oddly safe. Like earlier this week my douche bag boss fired me from a job I sorta loved and hated at the same time and the first thing I did was text him and meet up. But to come to all my friend’s defense everyone has been amazing.

Like every Capricorn on the planet I am resourceful and driven. Tomorrow (Sunday) I have a working interview at a restaurant I hope will be a great place to work. You see, or to remind everyone, in 2009 I was laid off from the television industry where I was a closed caption editor. After giving my heart and soul not to mention my time and patience they no longer needed my services. The situation left me feeling used and very broke. Thinking quick on my feet I took off to Europe, true not the started move but definitely worth it, and had the chance to word with my uncle who owned a restaurant. I immediately felt at home as I sliced, diced and served. When I returned to Toronto a friend offered me a dish washing job which turned into a grill cook which ultimately turned into Daytime Shift Supervisor at a Jewish Deli.  The experience was great and even though the fucking fat piece of shit who fired me was a retard, I made some truly good friends.

Back to the hooker. Our relationship is casual friendship, no sex – well not that he needs it – but it’s a piece of mind. He doesn’t judge but thinks outside the box. How people around me forget how important it is to free their mind and explore. EXPLORE!

If I never explored my career options I never would have realized how much I love making breakfast for people. As they say it is the most important meal of the day. Exploration sometimes means taking a chance on something you never thought of before. It could also mean thinking about new ways of doing something. Or, it could mean letting go of what you thought you knew and allow the situation to mold and shift the outcome. Sometimes it feels like I’m taking a passive approach but life is too short to stress over things like getting fired. What’s the point? Will worries speed the process of getting hired? If anything panic will only freeze you where you are.

7 Responses to “Perfect timing for love, art and food”

  1. Franki October 11, 2010 at 2:41 am #

    Wow, I just found your blog thing and it seemed really interesting and I so started reading all your blogs from this month and last month.. And I was right.. It is very interesting, well, your very intersting. So, I’ll probably be reading your blogs all the time now. Lol. That was random. Sorry. Just though I should say something.

    • phunkybrats October 12, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

      Hey – thanks. What kind of blogs do you like reading?

      • Franki October 14, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

        I like reading peoples blogs that are artistic and usually gay. Lol. I can relate to them alot.

      • phunkybrats October 15, 2010 at 4:27 am #

        How do you relate? Are you gay or an artist or both?

  2. Franki October 15, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

    I’m both. I sculpt and draw.

    • phunkybrats October 17, 2010 at 3:50 am #

      Nice where can I see your work? Do you have a website?

      • Franki October 17, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

        I’ve been putting together a website, it’s not finished yet, almost though. I would of been done sooner but I have to work and what not. Lol.

Leave a Reply

