Books that’s changing my life

17 Jan

Aside from that I decided to devote this blog to health concentrating on the Mind, Body, and Spirit. These are things that I already research for myself and want to share with all of you. Part of my Bucket List for 2011 (yes I know that a Bucket List is a list of things you want to do before you die, however my list consist of things I want to do before the year is up) I decided to catch up on some reading so here’s my list of books that I’m currently reading that are actually improving my life!

January is a tough month for me. Not only do I have to think and write out my New Year’s Resolution for the year and my birthday, it’s also that time of year when the city of Toronto gets stuck under snow and my mood turns to bla. However, this year instead of falling into the dark corners of winter I’m fighting back with the help of Dr. David D. Burns books Feeling Good: The New Mood Therapy. With tools like Rational Response and lessons on building self-esteem and why we can angry, life seems a little brighter. Here’s a passage from the book:

“Learn to Endorse Yourself: So you frequently convince yourself that what you do doesn’t count? If you have this bad habit, you will naturally feel that you never do anything worthwhile. It won’t make any difference if you are a Nobel laureate  or a gardener – life will seem empty because your sour attitude will take the joy out of all your endeavors and defeat you before you even begin.”

Part of my New Year’s Resolution is to quit smoking. Like most smokers who want to quit but don’t want to endure the withdrawal of nicotine, I’m always on the lookout for something that is quick and painless. My good friend Heather gave me a gift certificate for Chapters and I totally took advantage and thought I’d try something totally new to me…Guided Hypnosis and let me be the first to say it works! Paul McKenna’s Quit Smoking Today without gaining weight is a fantastic tool in quitting smoking. It’s so good that I picked up his Change Your Life in 7 days, Supreme Self-Confidence, and I can make you rich books. But back to quitting smoking. He promises that if you follow everything he says you will become a non-smoker. I’ve been working on it for 5-days and I’ve seen almost smoke-free but I’m certain by next week I will be completely smoke-free.

Leave a Reply

